fbpx
skip to Main Content
  @cdagroecologie
Permanent Mulching Of The Soil: A Fundamental Pillar Of Market Gardening Living Soil

Permanent mulching of the soil: a fundamental pillar of market gardening living soil

What are the advantages of permanent soil mulching in market gardening?

Associated with the non or reduced tillage of the soil, the mulching of cultivated beds forms the basis of market gardening on living soil. Its main objective is to guarantee the proper development of the soil’s living organisms to ensure a balance between the biological, chemical and physical porosity of the soil. Indeed, it allows both to directly protect the fauna of the soil but also its habitat from the sun’s rays and climatic hazards and to provide it with the food necessary for its propagation. The aim is to offer shelter and food to the macro and micro fauna of the soil and to benefit from all the resulting ecosystem services.

Soil fauna is a key element in the decomposition of organic matter, i.e. from mulching to humus and then its mineralization into mineral elements then available to cultivated plants. The soil becomes self-fertile: by bringing food to the soil and its biological life, it in turn nourishes the plant. Market gardening on living soil is moving away from the classic amendment N, P, K in favor of the organic matter that market gardeners bring to the soil through mulching. Vegetable growing systems produce little or no biomass that can be returned to the soil for construction. Since vegetables are harvested before the end of their cycle, very few of them are able to bring carbon to the soil. It is therefore necessary today to create this cycle of saprophytic fertility (living organisms that feed on decomposing organic matter) in market gardening soils by bringing an important quantity of organic matter and therefore carbon to the soil in order to promote biological activity and thus have a functional system.

market gardening-living-soil

The permanent covering of the soil with organic matter also has other advantages:

  • Soil protection against water, wind and arable erosion. Mulching prevents raindrops and wind from weakening the surface soil and carrying away material.
  • Establishment of the structural porosity of the soil. The massive input of organic matter boosts soil life and replaces mechanical porosity with more perennial biological porosity.
  • Fight against sodding. A dense and fairly thick mulch (a wood shredder mulch such as BRF for example) keeps the beds clean during cultivation and is a good lever against the emergence of adventitious. Reduced tillage reduces the germination of weed seed stock in the soil by limiting periods of soil stress.
  • Delays the soil temperature. An interface between the sun’s rays and the soil, mulching protects it from drought and keeps it moist and spawning. The insulating effect, however, is highly dependent on the mulch used. For example, vegetable compost is very dry and little used where 1m3 of wood shavings stores 350L of water. This phenomenon also protects the soil from cold spells (late frosts for example).

What mulches? What quantities? What supplies?

The possibilities are multiple and each mulch can present advantages as well as disadvantages. The choice of mulch depends above all on the possible supply either directly on the farm or locally from platforms, communes, landscape gardeners, other farmers… According to François Mulet, founder of the national network of market gardening on living soil, it is essential to create a supply chain for organic matter when setting up a market gardening project on living soil. For him, reducing operating costs is a key to economic success in Live Soil Marshalling. This is why he recommends for mulching to make do with what is most easily available and above all the cheapest. Recovering maintenance residues from municipal green spaces is a convenient solution for the city council, which can have them delivered at a lower cost.

Often, when we talk about natural mulching, we think directly of compost. Nevertheless, it is only used in small quantities for market gardening on living soil. In addition to the fact that it is very drying and therefore very water demanding, it is not accessible free of charge unlike other sources of organic matter. As it concerns already degraded organic matter, its C/N is relatively low and therefore it returns little carbon to the soil. Market gardeners prefer more carbonaceous materials such as wood shavings, which are widely used during the transition to reload the soil quickly and massively. Other mulchings are possible, as shown in the table below, depending on availability.

 

 

Towards an autonomy in mulching?

Resilience is at the heart of MSV systems. Importing external organic matter on their farms is a limit to market gardening practices on living soil, and raises questions. Depending on the location, it is not possible to recycle unused residues (such as shredded material that clutters up municipal officials after green space maintenance, for example) and market gardeners are forced to buy mulch from elsewhere. As a result, many are trying to build profitable stand-alone structures that produce their own carbonaceous materials. Despite variable results, canopy and green manure trials associated with rotations are found on many farms. Others with more surface area mow their plots left in permanent grassland. Some are also thinking of diversifying their production by adding a livestock workshop, which would complement market gardening since the manure is used to fertilize the cultivated soil.

Market gardening on living soil is a practice in constant evolution with a global reflection of producers to move towards more and more sustainability, particularly around the issue of mulching plots of land which is essential to obtain a living soil.

 

On these issues, the CDA assists farmers in order to enable them to evolve towards a profitable and environmentally friendly operation.

Find out more about our support offers:https://centre-developpement-agroecologie.fr/agriculteurs/.

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Back To Top
×Close search
Search

fbpx
skip to Main Content
  @cdagroecologie
English EN French FR
Le Paillage Permanent Du Sol : Un Pilier Fondamental Du Maraîchage Sol Vivant

Le paillage permanent du sol : un pilier fondamental du maraîchage sol vivant

Un paillage permanent du sol en maraîchage, quels intérêts ?

Associé au non-travail du sol ou à la réduction du travail du sol, le paillage des planches cultivées compose la base du maraîchage sur sol vivant. Il a pour principal objectif de garantir le bon développement des organismes vivants du sol pour assurer un équilibre entre la porosité biologique, chimique et physique du sol. En effet, il permet à la fois de protéger directement la faune du sol mais aussi son habitat des rayonnements du soleil et des aléas climatiques et de lui fournir la nourriture nécessaire à sa propagation. Il s’agit d’offrir le gîte et le couvert à la macro et microfaune du sol et de bénéficier de tous les services écosystémiques qui en découlent.

La pédofaune est un élément clé dans la décomposition de la matière organique, donc du paillage en humus puis de sa minéralisation en éléments minéraux alors disponibles aux plantes cultivées. Le sol devient autofertile : en apportant de la nourriture au sol et à sa vie biologique, il nourrit à son tour la plante. Le maraîchage sur sol vivant s’éloigne de l’amendement classique N, P, K au profit de la matière organique que les maraichers amènent au sol grâce au paillage.  Les systèmes maraîchers ne produisent pas ou peu de biomasse pouvant être rendue au sol afin de le construire. Comme les légumes sont récoltés avant la fin de leur cycle, ils sont très peu nombreux à pouvoir apporter du carbone au sol. Il est donc nécessaire aujourd’hui de créer ce cycle de la fertilité saprophyte (organismes vivants qui se nourrissent de matière organique en décomposition) dans les sols en maraîchage en apportant une quantité importante de matière organique et donc de carbone au sol afin de favoriser l’activité biologique et ainsi d’avoir un système fonctionnel.

maraichage-sol-vivant

La couverture permanente du sol avec des matières organiques présentent également d’autres avantages :

  • Protection du sol contre l’érosion à la fois hydrique, éolienne et aratoire. Le paillage empêche les gouttes d’eau de pluies et le vent de fragiliser le sol en surface et d’emporter de la matière.
  • Etablissement de la porosité structurale du sol. L’apport d’intrant massif de matière organique permet de booster la vie du sol et de remplacer la porosité mécanique par de la porosité biologique plus pérenne.
  • Lutte contre l’enherbement. Un paillage dense et assez épais (un paillage de broyat de bois type BRF par exemple) permet de garder des planches propres lors des cultures et constitue un bon levier contre la levée d’adventices. La diminution du travail du sol diminue la germination du stock de graines de mauvaises herbes du sol en limitant les périodes de stress pour le sol.
  • Temporise la température du sol. Interface entre les rayons du soleil et le sol, le paillage le protège de la sécheresse et le garde humide et frai. L’effet isolant dépend toutefois fortement du paillage utilisé. Par exemple le compost végétal est très séchant et peu utilisé là où 1m3 de broyat de bois stocke 350L d’eau. Ce phénomène protège aussi le sol des épisodes de froids (gelées tardives par exemple).

Quels paillages ? Quelles quantités ? Quels approvisionnements ?

Les possibilités sont multiples et chaque paillage peut présenter des avantages comme des inconvénients. Le choix du paillage dépend avant tout de l’approvisionnement possible soit directement sur sa ferme soit localement auprès de plateformes, des communes, de paysagistes, d’autres agriculteurs… D’après François Mulet, fondateur du réseau national maraichage sur sol vivant, il est primordial de créer une filière d’approvisionnement en matières organiques lorsqu’on monte un projet de maraîchage sur sol vivant. Pour lui, diminuer les charges de l’exploitation est une clé de la réussite économique en Maraichage sur sol vivant. C’est pourquoi il préconise pour le paillage de faire avec ce qui est disponible le plus facilement et surtout le moins cher. Récupérer les résidus d’entretien des espaces verts municipaux est une solution arrangeante pour la mairie qui peut les faire livrer à moindre coût.

Souvent, lorsqu’on parle de paillage naturel, on pense directement au compost. Néanmoins, il n’est utilisé qu’en faible quantité en maraichage sur sol vivant. Outre le fait qu’il est très séchant et donc très demandeur en eau, il n’est pas accessible gratuitement contrairement à d’autres sources de matières organiques. S’agissant de matières organiques déjà dégradées, son C/N est relativement faible et donc il restitue peut de carbone au sol. Les maraîchers lui préfèrent des matières plus carbonées comme le broyat de bois, très utilisé lors de la transition pour recharger les sols rapidement et massivement. D’autres paillages sont possibles, comme le montre le tableau ci-dessous, selon les disponibilités que l’on a.

 

 

Vers une autonomie en paillage ?

La résilience est au cœur des systèmes MSV. Importer de la matière organique externe sur leurs fermes constitue une limite aux pratiques du maraichage sur sol vivant, et pose question. Selon les localisations, il n’est pas possible de valoriser des résidus non utilisés (comme du broyat encombrant les agents municipaux après l’entretien des espaces verts par exemple) et les maraîchers sont contraints d’acheter du paillage venant d’ailleurs. Ils sont donc nombreux à essayer de construire des structures rentables autonomes qui produisent elles-mêmes leurs matières carbonées. Malgré des résultats variables, les essais de couverts végétaux et d’engrais verts associés aux rotations se retrouvent sur de nombreuses fermes. D’autres ayant plus de surface fauchent leurs parcelles laissées en prairies permanentes. Certains réfléchissent également à diversifier leurs productions en ajoutant un atelier d’élevage, alors complémentaire au maraichage puisque le fumier permet de fertiliser les sols cultivés.

Le maraichage sur sol vivant est une pratique en constante évolution avec une réflexion globale des producteurs pour aller vers de plus en plus de durabilité, notamment autour de la question du paillage des parcelles qui est indispensable à l’obtention d’un sol vivant.

 

Sur ces problématiques, le CDA accompagne les agriculteurs afin de leur permettre d’évoluer vers une exploitation rentable et respectueuse de l’environnement.

Découvrez nos offres d’accompagnement plus en détails : https://centre-developpement-agroecologie.fr/agriculteurs/.

Cet article comporte 0 commentaires

Laisser un commentaire

Back To Top
×Close search
Rechercher