fbpx
skip to Main Content
  @cdagroecologie
Market Gardening On Living Soil: A System Where Nitrogen Is No Longer The Limiting Element

Market gardening on living soil: a system where nitrogen is no longer the limiting element

The approach of classical agriculture is based on N, P, K fertilization with strong nitrogen amendments commonly considered as the most important chemical element for crops. Nevertheless, the experts of market gardening on living soil note that if in the forest plant production is abundant and nitrogenous amendments are non-existent, it is because nitrogen comes naturally from elsewhere. Based on this observation, they decided to no longer bring nitrogen to the soil but carbon as it is the case in natural ecosystems.

The supply of large quantities of organic matter with a high C/N ratio creates a hunger for nitrogen in the first few months. However, this disappears and gives way to nitrogen-laden residues over time (up to 200 nitrogen units after 10 years in François Mulet, founder of the national network of market gardening on living soil). The system thus becomes self-fertile: it is the contribution of organic matter that will allow the nitrogenous fertilization of the system.

In trying to understand their system, the market gardeners realized that nitrogen hunger then generates nitrogen fixation.

Nitrogen hunger: what is it?

The soil naturally contains nitrogen available in mineral form. When organic matter with a high C/N ratio is added to the soil, this arrival of carbon will be used by the soil fauna (fungi, bacteria, protozoa, yeasts…) which will multiply massively. Their C/N ratio is 10, which is much lower than the ration brought to them. So they have access to a lot of carbon but very little nitrogen compared to what they need to build up. In order to rebalance these contributions, this pedofauna draws on the stock of nitrogen already present in the soil to the detriment of the plant, which has less energy to do so. The stock of nitrogen in the soil is then no longer large enough to allow the development of the plant that gets stuck. Nothing grows anymore: it is a hunger for nitrogen. It can last up to 5 months. It can be contained by mixing materials with a much lower C/N with the organic input (fresh grass cuttings, poultry manure, plug fertilizers such as guano).

 

From hunger for nitrogen to its fixation in the soil

After these months of nitrogen starvation, the “organic matter” given at the beginning is degraded by soil microorganisms before being consumed by earthworms. The last phase of mineralization of the organic matter is then carried out and mineral nitrogen is found in the soil. At the same time, the high carbon nutrition of the soil boosts the populations of microorganisms, including atmospheric nitrogen-fixing bacteria, which will also replenish the soil’s stock of mineral nitrogen.

Experiments have thus shown that it is possible to double the initial soil nitrogen rate when high C/N ratio organic matter is added to the soil.

In addition, plant roots are capable of lysing soil microorganisms. These have become very numerous and are reserves of amino acids, an important source of nitrogen. An experiment has shown that in the presence of amino acids, ammonium and nitrates in the medium, plants preferentially absorb amino acids through their roots.

So when the soil “eats” carbon, it produces nitrogen. In nature, plants grow without fertilization because nitrogen is not limiting: it comes mainly from the air and becomes accessible to plants through biological fixation (60%), it also comes from the recycling of organic matter (30%) and rainfall (10%). In agricultural soils the presence of earthworms generates nitrogen: 1.2 tons of earthworms secrete 600 UN/ha.

 

Some videos to go further: ” Nitrogen at will – hunger for nitrogen and nitrogen fixing bacteria – François MULET “.

Other sources: Article by Maëla PEDEN, “Maraîchage sur sol vivant : A step towards the end of tillage? “March 2016

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Back To Top
×Close search
Search

fbpx
skip to Main Content
  @cdagroecologie
English EN French FR
Le Maraîchage Sur Sol Vivant : Un Système Où L’azote N’est Plus L’élément Limitant

Le maraîchage sur sol vivant : un système où l’azote n’est plus l’élément limitant

L’approche de l’agriculture classique se base sur la fertilisation N, P, K avec de fort amendements d’azote communément considéré comme l’élément chimique le plus important pour les cultures. Néanmoins, les experts du maraichage sur sol vivant constatent que si dans la forêt la production végétale est abondante et les amendements azotés inexistants, c’est que l’azote vient naturellement d’ailleurs. Se basant sur cette observation, ils ont décidé de ne plus apporter de l’ azote au sol mais du carbone comme c’est le cas dans les écosystèmes naturels.

L’apport en grande quantité de matière organique à fort rapport C/N engendre dans les premiers mois une faim d’azote. Néanmoins celle-ci disparaît et laisse place à des reliquats chargés en azote au fil du temps (jusqu’à 200 unités d’azote au bout de 10 ans chez François Mulet, fondateur du réseau national maraichage sur sol vivant). Le système devient ainsi autofertile : c’est l’apport de matière organique qui va permettre la fertilisation azotée du système.

En essayant de comprendre leur système, les maraîchers-chercheurs se sont rendu compte que les faims d’azote génèrent ensuite la fixation d’azote.

La faim d’azote : qu’est-ce que c’est ?

Le sol contient naturellement de l’ azote disponible sous forme minérale. Lorsqu’on ajoute au sol de la matière organique avec un fort rapport C/N, cette arrivée de carbone va être utilisée par la pédofaune (champignons, bactéries, protozoaires, levures…) qui va massivement se multiplier. Leur rapport C/N est de 10 soit très inférieur à celui de la ration qui leur est apportée. Ils ont donc accès à beaucoup de carbone mais très peu d’azote en comparaison de ce dont ils ont besoin pour se constituer. Afin de rééquilibrer ces apports, cette pédofaune puise le stock d’azote déjà présent dans le sol au détriment de la plante disposant de moins d’énergie pour le faire. Le stock d’azote du sol n’est alors plus assez important pour permettre le développement de la plante qui se bloque. Plus rien ne pousse : c’est une faim d’azote. Elle peut durer jusqu’à 5 mois. Il est possible de la contenir en mélangeant à l’apport organique des matières à C/N beaucoup plus faible (coupes de gazon frais, fumier de volaille, engrais en bouchon comme le guano).

 

De la faim d’azote à sa fixation dans le sol

Après ces mois de faim d’azote, la « matière organique » donnée au départ est dégradée par les microorganismes du sol avant d’être consommée par les vers de terre. La dernière phase de minéralisation de la matière organique est alors réalisée et de l’azote minéral se retrouve dans le sol. Parallèlement, la forte nutrition carbonée du sol booste les populations de microorganismes dont les bactéries fixatrices d’azote atmosphérique qui vont également renflouer le stock d’ azote minéral du sol.

Les expérimentations ont ainsi montré qu’il est possible de doubler le taux d’azote initial du sol lorsqu’on apporte de la matière organique à fort rapport C/N dans les sols.

De plus, les racines des plantes sont capables de lyser les microorganismes du sol. Devenus très nombreux, ce sont des réserves d’acides-aminés, source d’azote importante. Une expérience a montré qu’en présence d’acides-aminés, d’ammonium et de nitrates dans le milieu, les plantes absorbent par leurs racines préférentiellement les acides-aminés.

Donc quand le sol « mange » du carbone, il produit de l’azote. Dans la nature, les plantes poussent sans fertilisation car l’azote n’est pas limitant : il vient majoritairement de l’air et devient accessible aux plantes par fixation biologique (60%), il provient également du recyclage de la matière organique (30%) et des précipitations (10%). Dans les sols agricoles la présence de vers de terre est génératrice d’azote : 1,2 tonnes de vers de terre sécrètent 600 UN/ha.

 

Quelques vidéos pour aller plus loin : « Azote à volonté – faim d’azote et bactéries fixatrices d’azote – François MULET »

Autres sources : Article de Maëla PEDEN, « Maraîchage sur sol vivant : Un pas vers la fin du travail du sol ? », mars 2016

Cet article comporte 0 commentaires

Laisser un commentaire

Back To Top
×Close search
Rechercher